## ANNOUNCEMENT: WINNERS OF THE 2012 GERALD FELDMAN PRIZE

The European Association for Banking and Financial History sponsors a biannual prize of 2,000 Euros for the best article published in the *Financial History Review* by young scholars under the age of 40. The prize is named after, and dedicated to the memory of Gerald Feldman (1937-2007), one of the most distinguished and internationally renowned economic, financial and political historians of the last decades, and a member of the Academic Advisory Council of the EABH for many years.

The Prize is awarded by a Committee composed of all the members of the Editorial Advisory Board of *Financial History Review*. The rules for the competition are available on the web pages of FHR and the EABH.

The following articles published in the vols. 17 (2010) and 18 (2011) of the Review competed for the 2012 Prize:

-Aldo Musacchio and Andre Martinez Fritscher, Endowments, fiscal federalism and the cost of capital for states: evidence from Brazil, 1891–1930 (FHR 17/1, 2010)

-Lyndon Moore, Financial market liquidity, returns and market growth: evidence from Bolsa and Börse, 1902–1925 (FHR 17/1, 2010)

-Kim Oosterlink, French stock exchanges and regulation during World War II (FHR, 17/2, 2010)

-Mauro Rota and Fabrizio Schettino, The long-run determinants of British capital exports, 1870-1913 (FHR 18/1, 2011)

-Juan H. Flores, Information asymmetries and conflict of interest during the Baring crisis 1880–1890 (FHR 18/2, 2011)

-Lars Fredrik Oksendal, Dividend policy in Norwegian banking before 1914 (FHR 18/2, 2011)

-Rodney Edvinsson, Shadow interest rates in Stockholm and the integration of early financial markets, 1660–1685: was Heckscher right? (FHR 18/3, 2011).

On the base of the votes cast by the Committee, the Prize was assigned *ex aequo* to: -Aldo Musacchio and Andrés Martinez Fritscher, Endowments, fiscal federalism and the cost of capital for states: evidence from Brazil, 1891–1930 (FHR 17/1, 2010) and

-Juan H. Flores, Information asymmetries and conflict of interest during the Baring crisis 1880–1890 (FHR 18/2, 2011).

The Prize award ceremony will take place during the annual conference of the EABH, due to be held in Warsaw, on June 6, 2013.